≡ Menu

Complaints about Cambria Quartz

cambria quartzIf you’ve been thinking about getting a new kitchen counter you have probably been wondering whether there have been any complaints about Cambria quartz.

Fortunately, there have been little to no complaints about this type of countertop. People have been thrilled with their quartz counters and happy that they went ahead and made the purchase.

Update: Make sure to read the comments below. There have been some consistent complaints about resin pooling but I’ll show you how to avoid the problem.

There has been no real pattern to the small complaints that have been talked about on various forums across the Internet regarding Cambria countertops. In fact, the only real type of debate that has been ongoing is about Cambria vs granite and which one is the best. When it comes to people preferring granite, it is usually because of the aesthetics of the stone itself and the general look it provides in the kitchen.

Related: What are the prices of Cambria?

Quartz countertops don’t have a lot of variation in their appearance like granite counters do. On the other hand, however, granite doesn’t have the wonderful gleaming shine to it that a quartz countertop does and therein lies the ongoing debate.

As far as durability goes, we weren’t able to find any complaints about Cambria quartz. Quartz countertops are basically worry-free and don’t require a lot of maintenance like granite counters do. They are much stronger than granite and don’t need to be sealed. With no maintenance issues and their reputation for being the toughest type of countertop around, you won’t run into any problems having quartz in your kitchen.

Almost every company that offers engineered quartz such as DuPont, Cosentino and Cambria offer warranties against manufacturing defects for up to 10 years. Since quartz is the strongest mineral in the world that’s not a gemstone, it’s easy for these companies to offer this type of warranty with absolute certainty.

Related: Where to buy quartz countertops.

Cambria is scratch and heat resistant and they also resist staining. You won’t find a quartz countertop dulling over the years either and can expect the shine to last virtually a lifetime. It’s not a common complaint of Cambria.

The only thing that you need to avoid when you’re a quartz countertop owner is cleaning it with any type of abrasive cleaner or scrubber. You’ll never have to resort to this type of scrubbing since the countertop can be easily cleaned using mild soap and a soft rag.

Have there been many complaints about Cambria quartz? Not that we could find! Reviewers that have installed Cambria quartz in their kitchens have been more than thrilled with their decision and have no problem recommending it to others.

{ 32 comments… add one }
  • Tom November 20, 2012, 7:51 pm

    There are plenty of Cambria complaints if you Google.
    I’m not sure what “research” you guys did.
    I’ve found several complaints about resin pooling with Cambria.
    Unfortunately, I only searched after my counters were installed and I was like what is that spot that doesn’t have quartz in it.

    Thumbs down for Cambria. Their “Life Time” warranty doesn’t cover resin pooling.
    There are pictures on gardenweb
    http://ths.gardenweb.com/forums/load/kitchbath/msg0408260814383.html

    • Peter Liang November 21, 2012, 8:24 pm

      That’s a terrible looking piece of stone and it should have never left the factory, Tom. It’s important to note that anytime you are buying stone you should see the quartz and accept it before they cut it for your kitchen. This goes for all brands of any stone, and not just Cambria.

      When it’s brought to your house you should always inspect it for damage as well. You can reject it as long as it hasn’t been installed yet. Once it’s installed you are going to have a much harder time getting a resolution to any problems.

      You also should never pay for the whole job up front. Half up front and half after your satisfied is how I always do business.

      Fortunately, you’re not going to see this problem very often and it can be completely avoided by doing a little bit of due diligence. Looks like it might be a good idea for me to write an article about choosing the perfect stone so that people don’t run into this problem.

      • Lori July 23, 2015, 10:32 pm

        I think they second guessed the color they picked. I have Cambria Canterbury and could not be happier. No pooling on mine.

  • Sue February 6, 2013, 5:01 pm

    We just had Cambria installed last week, installers took a big chunk out of stove opening they were finishing cutting to fit. They didnt even mention this until we noticed. Took pictures, and they said it would not effect the product. I do not know if this is true or not, I did not want a chunk out of my Cambria…. Had a representative come out and they completely dismissed what we were upset about. Really disappionted with local customer service…I am contacting the main headquarters for this situation.

    • Peter Liang February 6, 2013, 5:15 pm

      You should absolutely climb the complaint ladder! You paid for a perfect countertop, not a nearly perfect one.

  • Casey Jackson February 7, 2013, 4:03 pm

    We had Cambria countertops installed less than a month ago, a grey tone called “Fieldstone”. All looked well until the installers left & as they were pulling away from the drive & I was standing in my dining area taking in the view of my new (nearly finished) kitchen, I noticed a scratch by the sink area gleaming in the sunlight. I quickly called the company with my concern. The installers promptly came back the following day to “fix” the scratched area, but the fix of a small scratch soon became three significant scuff marks (not sure how this happened, but they tried many different processes on the countertop while I watched the issues grow!). We are now in the process of having this rectified, I am hoping… I now have growing concerns about the durability of this product as we payed a heavy premium for something that we researched & were assured was a quality product. Not good :p

    • Peter Liang February 10, 2013, 6:45 pm

      Hi Casey. That’s likely the installers or fabricators fault. Under normal kitchen use they are very durable.

  • Anne February 10, 2013, 6:14 pm

    We have had cambria in our very busy kitchen for nearly two years and have not had a single issue. When we purchased the cambria, we were told not to place items out of the oven onto the counter which we were told is one of the differences between granite and cambria. Is this true? We were also told that cambria is non porous so bacteria does not penetrate.

    • Peter Liang February 10, 2013, 6:48 pm

      Cambria is non porous, that is true. It’s not true however that they are less heat resistant than granite. They offer the same benefits when it comes to placing hot pots and pans on them. It is possible to scorch them, but it’s possible to scorch granite as well. That’s why so many people recommend that you use a trivet for insulation.

  • agnes March 1, 2013, 9:57 pm

    Do you have any feedback on Cambria’s chances of being stained under normal use? We are considering a white counter for both the island and cooktop area. Any other recent info out there regarding customer complaints about this product? Thanks.

    • Peter Liang March 3, 2013, 3:05 am

      Hi Agnes. Staining is one of the negative comments that I hear the least. When I do it usually turns out that an acidic like a tomato sauce spill was left on the countertop for hours. Even then it’s rare though.

  • Brian March 17, 2013, 3:36 am

    Peter- I have heard that in the Cambria Jewel line like Parys or Whitney the stones have been said to pop out. Have you ever heard that?

    • Peter Liang March 17, 2013, 3:52 pm

      Hi Brian,

      No, I’ve never heard of that. Sounds more than fishy to me.

  • Lucien Crepeau August 10, 2015, 9:04 pm

    I have issues with my Cambria Praa sands. I have contacted the installer, they took pictures and agreed that it looks like the surface finish has peeled away, I’ve had another spot show up this weekend. A claim was put in to Cambria and was denied, they say it is normal wear and tear, installer offered to repair it at a rate of $150.00 an hour. If the surface can be repaired by coating, obviously it is not a Quart finish. If this is supposed to be more durable than a granite surface, why are pitts coming out of the surface. We had it installed on October 20, 2014, we were away for 3 months last winter and reported the problem in May 2015. With only 4 months of use, what is this surface going to look like in a year or so. After my online complaint was filed, I received a phone call from a female representative. She insinuated that I had abused the surface. After spending $5,650.00, I don’t think anybody would take a hammer to the surface. I am retired and have worked in the service industry all my life. This is a defective product with no Warranty support from Cambria. I plan to go through the legal process to recover my cost of counter top purchase, removal and disposal, and legal fees.

  • Virginia September 28, 2015, 3:54 am

    I had Cambrian Roslyn installed last nov. it has chips where the. Stones popped out and lots of fissures thru out. Had a rep fill spots but u can feel the spots when cleaning. Cambria blew me off but I’m not happy and would not recommend.

  • Jonetta October 8, 2015, 3:27 pm

    We are having Cambria quartz countertops installed tomorrow. I keep reading clean with water and mild soap. What is a mild soap?? Any liquid dish soap?? We use Dawn Platinum or Palmolive, are these ok?

  • Nancy January 7, 2016, 5:36 pm

    Hi
    I recently purchased/installed Cambria’s Praa Sands…
    The color of the Cambria looks like the samples…intense
    (beautiful) colors, except on one piece. The back side
    of the counter looks like the colors faded. My cooktop hides
    a portion of it, but on each side of the cooktop, the faded
    portion stands out.
    Is this normal or is it a defect?
    Thank you for your comments.

  • sue January 28, 2016, 2:57 am

    Had Cambria Torquay installed 6 months ago. Took 3 tries to get an island without defects. However, they cracked the cabinet supports of the island trying to take off island 2 which was so stuck on with globs of silicone a jack couldn’t get it off. Cambria representative Dave Mayle was not helpful, no other response from Cambria. Last month (countetop is now 5 months old) a crack began in the middle of one of the seams. The nearest support is over 4 feet away. The seam was placed where there is no cabinet directly to the right of the seam as the wall bays and the cabinets aren’t underneath to the right as it rounds the bay. Cambria itself gave us a dealer and installer. Someone, not us, made an error, or the engineered component of the quartz was bad. We never put anything hot, or cold, on that seam. We didn’t even have a stove for 3 months after that counter was installed as it was back ordered. Yet Cambria said it must have been direct heat. Then Dave said maybe someone stood on it. No one did, 2 of us live here. We don’t walk on countertops. There are no light fixtures above the crack. This company touts itself as U.S. made. Please look at all the complaints it has against it. I want to come back and say they rectified this. However, based on Dave Mayle, the Cambria representative, I’d say no chance. Please rewrite your beginning, because someone in a hurry might not read all the posts. I’m out almost $10, 000. There is ZERO customer service once they have all your money and the product is not quality.

  • Michael Pung April 12, 2016, 11:06 am

    This discussion sounds more like a sales pitch than an objective review. Couldn’t find any complaints on the jewel collection??? Pages of them, most centered on the Parys, Miners, and others with the larger pieces of natural quartz. The pieces reportedly chip and break easily and also pop out leaving divets. Just Google “Cambria quartz”. Too bad. We were in the process of selecting tops for our new home and loved the Parys jeweled but we can’t overlook the huge number of reported failures.

  • Ellen April 19, 2016, 8:16 am

    Cambria should not set a stain. Denatured alcohol should remove any trace of haze from a stain.

  • Nancy April 28, 2016, 1:16 pm

    Can we make a change and have a piece of Cambria cut smaller once it has been installed? We have an island where the Cambria hangs over, so it can be used as a breakfast bar. We woud like that “hangover” piece cut off.

  • Terry Crawford May 18, 2016, 9:17 pm

    We are in the process of picking out at least 90 sq ft of quartz countertop. I had my heart set on Cambria Laneshaw until reading all the complaints against the company. I am now scared to trust the Cambria company. I am hoping to hear some positives or may have to change to using Wilsonart. Hopefully they have a better reputation.

  • Brianne Roth August 6, 2016, 1:55 pm

    I am extremely disappointed with my experience dealing with Cambria. I had very high hopes when my contractor said we would be dealing with Cambria, however their workmanship and customer service have both fallen incredibly short.

    My counter top was delivered for instillation in a completely unacceptable form…so much so that the delivery man would not even bring the counter in the house. The quartz had been cracked in the factory, and an employee filled it with epoxy, which did not even match the colours in the quartz (my colours are grey and they filled it with a beige). Where is the quality control here?? I was assured that there would be a rush on the re-ordering of the slab. much to my disappointment, I received a phone call a full week later stating that “they have reviewed the quartz, and they will go ahead and put in the order to have it re made”……WHAT!!?? it has already been a week, and that is as far as they had gotten…not what I consider “putting a rush” on it. The Cambria representative told me that I would be getting a phone call this week with an update…surprise surprise…I have not heard a word. So this Counter top that I had been patiently waiting for, which was supposed to be installed on July 26, is still not done, and in fact, I have no idea what state it is in.

    The additional disappointment with this, is that now, not only have we been without a counter for a month, my contractor is unable to complete the rest of his work at my home, such as backsplash, seeing as it relies on the counter being in place first.

    needless to say, I would not at this point recommend using Cambria, they have fallen extremely short of their reputation, unfortunately at my loss and dissatisfaction.

  • Melanie McKenna October 29, 2016, 6:17 pm

    I’ve had my Cambria countertops for seven years and have never really been happy. My island has chips on it and the black on the rest of my countertops has faded spots and shows fingerprints. Any suggestions for a remedy?

  • Linda L Kemp December 12, 2016, 3:42 pm

    I have had my Cambria countertops for about a year. They are looking dull. What is the best way to clean them? I have been using soap and water. Somewhat said to put denatured alcolhol in the water. Help!

  • Brenda Sandberg December 20, 2016, 2:37 am

    We’ve had 8 homes and have installed granite in 5 of them. We decided to install Cambria quartz in our present house…doing so was a mistake. It’s a gorgeous color, but is smudged, milky-appearing in areas and stains like crazy. Cambria representative has been out and tried to shine or polish out the defective areas, but to no avail. Cambria claims or blames the installer. We are stuck with very expensive countertops that look terrible. Presently, the installer was asked to send a sample of our countertops to Cambria corp for testing. We are awaiting the results. In the meantime, we are very unhappy and are stuck with an inferior or defective product. We simply can not get them clean. Yes, we paid for half of the estimated price, but if we don’t pay the outstanding balance a lien may be placed on our house. We, the customer lose.

  • David January 10, 2017, 4:46 pm

    I have a Cambria countertop as a part of my kitchen design, after just two years of usage, I was happy with the product till now, I water filled my farmer style sink aprox. 35-40 gallon capacity which is undermounted, when it suddenly cracked, I quickly drained the water to avoid any further damage,There was a clear and visable faultline that lifted away from each side, shortly after an hour, the crack reset itself to flush, I called Cambria who sent a repairman to seal the crack, unfortunately this is not a repair as it is just a apoxy to help avoid further spreading of the crack, needless to say the crack is still there, a follow up call from head office from Cambria was not very promising in regards to their lifetime warranty, I was told that under no circumstances will Cambria ever replace any of their countertops, regardless of any manufacturing defects, now they are passing me off to the installers, the blame game begins. I was promised a call back, from the the installers and the Cambria representative in the Ontario, A LIFETIME WARRANTY on CAMBRIA TOPS??? Is a total misrepresentation of their product, there is no such thing as a warranty,
    Buyer Beware….

  • Susan M. Wolf January 12, 2017, 4:08 pm

    We have had our Cambria countertops almost 3 years and I love them. I do not have any complaints, only a question. The area around my faucets has lost the shine and the gloss of its original look. (Rest of countertops are fine) This is due to our hard water and the lime content in water. How or what should I use to apply to this area to make it “shine” again?

  • Adam January 14, 2017, 4:16 pm

    We had cambria counter tops installed about 3 months ago the first tops did not match up at the L pattern did a 90 degree turn at the seam I did not accept it they tried telling me that that was how it supposed to look, NOT!, they remade them after three weeks we got what we should have had in first place, now we have problems seam is raised in back and three feet away it now has cracked they say cambria wont warranty cracks as they say installation was correctly, installation company is basically saying its our fault for it cracking, like they would say they did something wrong, I am totally not happy with our quartze tops by cambria

  • Linda E. January 25, 2017, 6:40 am

    I had Cambria Whitney installed over a year ago in my bathroom and I love it, no problems at all. I love the sparkle it gives and I have had many complements on it.
    Very easy to clean and doesn’t require any maintenance.

  • terry st. john January 27, 2017, 10:30 pm

    for the price you pay for them they don’t stand behind there product they are junk ours cracked said it was our problem said it was not they installers fault ya right we called them sent a guy out to fix it he could of just as well stayed home did not do a thing a rep called the next day and said they don’t stand behind cracks said it was our problem spent a lot of money on cambria tops and byers cabinets that chipped the top installers put a gouge in front of one of doors at least byers came out and fixed there problems that is more than I can say for cambria you can go to menards better price and will last a lot longer

  • Barbara Ann Moor February 5, 2017, 8:07 am

    These statements are totally false. My cambia countertops have huge ugly pooling blotches that do not appear on any sample. I had asked to see the slab before it was cut and was told there would be no variance. Two people one from Cambria and one from ISG agreed the blotches were out of line with samples but the Cambria people refused to replace them and International Stone and Granite would do nothing for me. I am getting an attorney. I’ve also read where these counters will crack with heat. Stick to granite. Cambia usctoo fragile despite wgmgat the salesmen tell you.

Leave a Comment